General Research: Find Websites
Evaluating Web Resources
Guidelines for evaluating websites.
Purpose
- Why was this source created?
- What audience was it created for?
- Is it scholarly or popular? Does this matter?
Authority
- Who is the author? A person? A corporation?
- What are the author's qualifications for writing on this subject?
Timeliness
- Is there a date?
- When was the content last updated?
Scope
- Does it give too much or too little information?
- How specific is the information provided?
Selected Websites
It is important to be discerning when using the web to locate sources. There are some very valuable resources out there as well as some shady ones. Make sure to follow the guidelines listed to the left when browsing the internet for research.
- The Library of CongressSearch the Library of Congress' digital collections that include books, journals, newspapers, sound recordings, photographs, and more.
- The National Archives and Records Administration's Online Research ToolsSearch both federal and regional government records and archives.
- Merriam-WebsterAn online dictionary, thesaurus, and encylopedia.
- Internet Public LibraryA guide to trustworthy internet sources for all types of searches.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowAllows users to search for articles and books. Click "Advanced Scholar Search" for even more search options.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowThis source offers much more than dictionary definitions including historical timelines and thesauri.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowBrowse the subject guide, maps and illustrations, famous quotations and bilingual dictionaries.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use the search boxes to search for information by subject, title, or source.
- Open Learning InitiativeBrowse free online courses on a variety of topics.
- InfopleaseBrowse encyclopedia entries, atlases, almanacs, and other resources.
Finding Credible Online Sources
Ask a Librarian
Related Research Guides
Here are a few research guides that may be useful to you when beginning your research paper or project.