History: Find Articles and Newspapers

Why search here? Search here for scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences in a major database that many students are familiar with from high school.
Content type: Journal articles, eBooks, images, primary sources

Why search here? Find scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, book

Provide students extensive coverage of historical events. This collection contains millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers; hundreds of thousands of topic and event overviews; biographies; and rich multimedia, including images, videos, audio, and weblinks. This invaluable resource provides access to information on diverse topics, such as early America, the Great Depression, and National History Day.

Access centuries worth of rare primary sources, reliable reference and multimedia content. Gale In Context: World History is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History

Features reference books, history periodicals, and other secondary sources as well as thousands of historical documents. Oriented towards high schools and undergraduate researchers.

Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title

Why search here? Good for succinct overviews of a wide variety of subjects and topics, provided through reference articles drawn from encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Content type: Encyclopedia articles, biographical information, dictionary entries, videos, images

Includes full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Provides full text and page images of HarpWeek, one of the most important serials of nineteenth-century America. Includes browsing issues by date, searching the index, searching for the full text of articles, browsing literature by genre, or finding people by their occupation or role in society

Why search here? Explore this collection for non-fiction writings from prominent Black leaders covering many areas of the last 250 years of American history.
Content type: Primary sources, newspaper articles, correspondence, speeches, diaries, interviews, trial transcripts, scholarly commentary, monographs
Coverage dates: 1800s-present

A reference source for historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history from 1790 to more recent years.

Contains over 12,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, which represent an unparalleled record of African American history, literature, and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century

Why search here? The main international source for finding abstracts of scholarly articles and books about Greek and Roman literature, philosophy and history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles and books
Coverage dates: 1928-present

Why search here? Explore articles in African American newspapers from across the U.S. to learn more about African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1827-1998
 

Why search here? Good for finding historical and current articles from newspapers and news sources across the U.S., including smaller regional and local newspapers.
Content type: Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, newswires
Coverage dates: 1700s-present

The Christian Science Monitor offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Full page views. Limit searches to sources sympathetic to the Confederacy or Union or to an 1860 or 1864 presidential candidate.

Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present

Why search here? Register for an account to access the the entirety of the newspaper's articles and web content online and in their mobile apps.
Content type: Newspaper articles, videos, games, recipes
Coverage dates: 1851-present

Register using your USCA email account. Entitles users to WSJ app also.

Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers.