Paper #2 - Global Healthcare System Comparison - EXSC A440 - Gelinas - Online - Gregg-Graniteville Library at University of South Carolina Aiken

Exploring the issues - Global Healthcare System Comparison

Below is a list of some of the Library's best databases for finding journal articles on Allied Health topics. If you have any challenges logging into the databases, please see our Off-campus Library Access guide.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) is an excellent database to begin your research. When looking for journal articles on healthcare, I encourage you to start here.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database published by the National Library of Medicine and is an important database for locating research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a good broad database covering the sciences, including Allied Health. Most journal articles in ScienceDirect are available as full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
If you looking for historical, economic, religious, or political information, JSTOR is an excellent full-text database.It is our best history, religion, and political science database. Please note that JSTOR's strength is not healthcare.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development (OECD) iLibrary is an excellent site for finding reports & data on other countries, including comparative health information (search for "health at a glance" and select the pdf for an excellent report).

Statistical Information:

Below are a number of websites with excellent information and statistics to help support your research. If you are feeling overwhelmed by the amount of data on these sites, please feel free to reach out to me (Prof. Harmon) or ask any of us via Ask a Librarian. We are here to help!

While locating raw data can be super useful in a paper, sometimes it can be a bit difficult to sort through. if you can locate a report published by the CDC or WHO (or relevant organization), it can help demystify data by providing context.

Census.gov - Health Insurance
This US Census page contains links to a few reports on U.S. Health Insurance
Centers for Disease Control
Excellent source for finding information and data on health issues in the U.S.
World Health Organization - Countries Data
The World Health Organization - Countries data is a great way to find health information on specific countries including life expectancy and health expenditures.
CDC - National Center for Health Statistics
This CDC site provides a great entry point into the wealth of information provided on health by the CDC. Of note is the FastStats site.

EXSC A440 - Gelinas - Online: Paper #2 - Global Healthcare System Comparison

Ask a Librarian