BADM 383 - Porca: Find Articles
Off-Campus Access
To access library databases off-campus, you will need to log in with your Network Username (first part of your email, NOT your VIP) and Blackboard Password.
Click on the Off-Campus Access tab for information on accessing databases off-campus, as well as how to troubleshoot any issues you may encounter.
Wall Street Journal
New access to the Wall Street Journal directly through the WSJ website and App. Click on the link in the database list to sign up for an account by using your USCA email. The App will ask if you would like a free 1-month membership, say no and login through your USCA email for free access.
Wall street access includes...
"Trusted insights on business, markets and the economy, in-depth analysis on politics leading up to the U.S. election, up-to-the-minute breaking news from around the world, influential viewpoints and commentary from WSJ columnists and world leaders, the latest in tech and innovation—from startups to blue chips." (WSJ).
Databases
-
Business Source PremierProvides access to peer-reviewed articles, as well as articles from magazines and newspapers.
-
Wall Street Journal (Current -- Register using USCA email)Register using your USCA email account. Entitles users to WSJ app also.
-
Academic Search PremierLike Business Source Premiere, provides access to peer-reviewed articles, as well as magazines and newspapers. Unlike BSP, ASP is a general database that covers all subject areas. It can be searched at the same time as BSP.
-
OECD iLibraryThe Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) provides access to books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
Find Articles, Tips
Business Source Premier
- Looks like Academic Search Premier
- Starting with the first combination of search terms you came up, type your search terms into the search box. Be sure to put only one concept per bok.
- Using the left column of the results page, limit your results can to “Scholarly/Peer-reviewed," "Full-text," and you can limit by date.
- Use the blue “Find Full Text” buttons to see if specific articles are available in different databases. If you get several that are not, you can remove them all from the results by limiting to “Full-text” in the left column of the results page.
JSTOR
- Click on “Advanced Search” under the single search box.
- Any search terms that involve multiple words should have quotation marks around them. That tells the database to search it as a phrase.
- Limit your Item Type to “Articles” and the Language to “English.”
- If a title looks promising, click on it, then click on the PDF button. (accept conditions).
- Once you’re in the PDF, hit CTRL+F to bring up the search box. Use this box to search the article for mentions of your author, the play, or anything else you’re interested in, like themes or characters.
- You cannot email articles to yourself from JSTOR. To email yourself the full article, you will need to save it first, then email it as an attachment.
Project Muse
- Click “Searching” at the very top of the page. This will take you to a page with multiple search boxes.
- Main difference: On your results page, limit the Content Type to “Articles” in the left column of the results page.
