First Year Reading Experience 2016-2017: Getting Started
Featured Books
Capital Punishment in America by Call Number: HV 8699 .U5 U734 2012ISBN: 9781593324452Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by
Winner of Reference USA, Booklist Editor's Choice and CHOICE 2002 Outstanding Academic Title awards! `The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides the much-needed practices, policies, and research and will be of interest to students, teachers, and the general reader alike. This work should be on the shelves of all libraries with collections in the social sciences' - Larry E Sullivan, John Jay College of Criminal Justice With 1.5 million words in almost 500 entries, this four-volume Encyclopedia is the definitive resource for anyone interested in crime and criminal justice. The contributors to the Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment are experts from 16 countries: academics, lawyers, police, probation and prison officers, and administrators. The project was aided by an advisory board including renowned researchers and librarians from leading centres of criminal justice studies. The Encyclopedia provides readers with a comprehensive, authoritative 21st century reference resource on crime and punishment. The entries come from many sources - sociological surveys, ethnographic observation, government reports, clinical interviews, evaluation research, media reports, crime fiction and true crime literature, among others. This reference tool is of great value to practitioners and university students alike. University students interested in a career in criminal justice will find the Encyclopedia a useful overview of the entire field. Students in criminology, law, sociology, political science and other related disciplines will find it an accessible entry point into the vast and ever expanding litereature on crime and punishment. Topics covered include: - Crimes and Types of Crimes - Law and Justice - Policing and Forensics - Prisons - Victimology - Social/Cultural Contexts - Concepts and Theories - The Study of Crime and Punishment - Organizations and Institutions - Special Populations (For example: women, children, racial/ethnic groups) Features include: - Broader, more up-todate coverage than any other source on the market - 150 Illustrations - Four volumes - 2400 pages - 425 entries - A to Z format - 100 `Factoids', spotlighting important and sometimes startling, information - Over 500 photos, charts, tables, graphs - Bibliography: at end of each entry and master bibliography in Volume 4 - Chronology at the beginning of each volume - Appendices: Careers in criminal justice, professional organizations, guidance on using the Web to collect accurate information - An extensive index The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment is an essential resource for all libraries with collections in criminology and social justice.
Call Number: REF HV 6017 .E524 2002ISBN: 076192258XPublication Date: 2002-03-18
Race, Class, and the Death Penalty by Call Number: HV 8699 .U5 A725 2008ISBN: 9780791474372Publication Date: 2008-05-15
Welcome to the FYRE 2016-2017 Research Guide
The FYRE Research Guide will help you locate books, journal articles, web sites and other great resources available through the University of South Carolina Aiken's Gregg-Graniteville Library.
Edward Lee Elmore: Before and After Prison
Anatomy of Injustice Video Links
AFCI 101 Workshop Presentations & Recommended Teaching Resources
- Know the Facts about Capital PunishmentAmnesty International
- The Death Penalty Resource GuideAmnesty International
- Death Penalty Fact SheetDeath Penalty Information Center
- Project Implicit, Harvard University Implicit Associations Tests: Tests conscious and unconscious preferences on a variety of topics including race, gender, religion, and politics.
Ask a Librarian
Related Research Guides
