Government Documents: Health and Medicine
The U.S. Government and the state of South Carolina provide citizens with an abundance of information covering a wide variety of topics. This guide will assist users in obtaining government information at both the state and federal level.
Federal Government Health & Medicine Links
- CDC StacksCDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This online archive is composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs. This repository is retained indefinitely and is available for public health professionals, researchers, as well as the general public.
- CDC Statistical DataStatistical Data from a variety of resources related to Healthcare
- CDC-Center for Disease ControlCDC′s Mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
- Census Bureau's American FactfinderAmerican FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
- Congressional Budget Office - HealthcareSince its founding in 1974, the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. The agency is strictly nonpartisan and conducts objective, impartial analysis, which is evident in each of the dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates that its economists and policy analysts produce each year.
- Economic Census Data HealthcareCensus Bureau Economic Census Data related to healthcare
- Food and Drug AdministrationFDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
- GAO - Government Accountability Office Healthcare TopicsThe U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
- Health and Human ServicesThe Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves. HHS works closely with state and local governments, and many HHS-funded services are provided at the local level by state or county agencies, or through private sector grantees. The Department’s programs are administered by 11 operating divisions, including eight agencies in the U.S. Public Health Service and three human services agencies.
- National Library of MedicineThe National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
- PubMed BasicsThis is a PDF printable brochure which provides information about using the PubMed database
- Statistical Abstract - Healthcare2012 Statistical Abstract Healthcare Tables
- Substance Abuse and Mental Services AdministrationSAMHSA was established in 1992 and directed by Congress to target effectively substance abuse and mental health services to the people most in need and to translate research in these areas more effectively and more rapidly into the general health care system.
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
South Carolina Health Resources
- South Carolina Dept of Health and Environmental Control
The South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) is the state agency charged with protecting public health, coastal resources, and the state's land, air and water quality as authorized under multiple state and federal laws. Approximately 3,500 full-time DHEC employees around the state support communities in promoting health, provide vital healthcare and other direct services, monitor pollution, coordinate disease control, carry out the agency's inspection and regulatory responsibilities, respond to environmental emergencies, and protect public health and the environment in numerous other ways.
- South Carolina Dept of Mental Health
The S.C. Department of Mental Health gives priority to adults, children, and their families affected by serious mental illnesses and significant emotional disorders. We are committed to eliminating stigma and promoting the philosophy of recovery, to achieving our goals in collaboration with all stakeholders, and to assuring the highest quality of culturally competent services possible.
CDC 24/7
