Find Articles - BIOL 250 - Microbiology - Burgess - Gregg-Graniteville Library at University of South Carolina Aiken

E-Resources Login Help

To access the library's e-resources, like ebooks and databases, you will log in with your full USC Aiken email address and your email password.

Follow this link for more information and troubleshooting instructions.

E-Resources Login Help

Google Search Tips

When searching using Google, here are some tips for limiting your searches.

-On Google, you have the option to limit your searches to just news or just books by clicking those options at top of the page, above your search results.

-You can limit your searches to just government information by tying in your search terms, followed by site:.gov

For example: [covid masks transmission site:.gov]

-You can also limit your searches to specific websites by typing in your search terms, followed by site: and the site url, like site:nytimes.com

For example: [covid masks transmission site:nytimes.com]

Databases

Below is a list of databases where you can find news articles in the sciences.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full-text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present). The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Finding Articles

When looking for or keeping up with science news, it helps to be familiar with the most prominent and respected publications that are most commonly followed by experts/practitioners in their fields. Here are some examples provided by your professor.

Newspapers Through USCA

New York TImes This link opens in a new window
Get unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Register using your USCA email account. Entitles users to WSJ app also.

Beware

Some websites present themselves as covering science news when what they're actually doing is disseminating press releases. An example of this is Science Daily. Whenever you're not sure, read a platform's "About" page to see how they describe themselves. You can also search google regarding a platform's reputation or integrity.

Science Daily: About Page