Gregg-Graniteville Library: ENGL 102--Seeger: Find Articles--Databases

Accessing Databases and Ebooks

To access the library's databases and ebooks, you will log in with your full USCA email address and your email password. If you have trouble logging in, visit our E-Resources Login Help guide.

Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database primarily provides access to literary criticism. While there is some full text, most articles are not available as full text in this database. Use the "Find it" buttons under specific results to see if those items are available in another database. If not, you can request items via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a humanities database that covers many different subject areas, so you can use it to find both literary criticism and articles that explore the cultural/contextual aspects of the work you're interested in. Click on the "Advanced Search" option to get multiple search boxes, and limit your search to articles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a humanities database that covers many different subject areas, so you can use it to find both literary criticism and articles that explore the cultural/contextual aspects of the work you're interested in. Currently there is no Advanced Search option on the main page, but once you execute a search, you'll see multiple search boxes in the upper left corner of the results page.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a good, general database that covers all subject areas, so you can find both literary criticism and cultural/contextual information.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In this database you can find literary criticism, along with book reviews and news.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a general database where you can find both literary criticism and cultural/contextual information. Click on the "Advanced Search" option on the hope page for multiple search boxes.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You can search by author, and at the top of the results page, you can limit to "Literary Criticism."
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Pre-eminent dictionary of the English language, with authoritative definitions of more than 500,000 words. In addition to current definitions, it traces the development of words. Find out what words meant at different periods.

InterLibrary Loan

If you come across an article that we don't have full-text access to in our collection, you can request it via InterLibrary Loan.

To log into ILL, you will use your Network Username (first part of email) and your Blackboard password. If you run into problems, you may need to reset your network password.

When you log into your ILL account for the first time, you will complete a first-time user information form. As you complete this form, you will see these two questions:

Student ID: It's asking for the barcode number on the back of your student ID card.
Electronic Delivery if possible: Select YES

You can access your ILL account by clicking the red ILL/PASCAL box on the Llibrary's homepage.

Ask A Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Interviews and Book Reviews

If your author and poem are more contemporary, newspaper databases can be particularly useful tools. In them you can find interviews and book reviews which you might be able to use if scholarly journal articles aren't available.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal sources. These include regional, national, and international newspapers, news wires, broadcast transcripts, non-English language news sources, magazines, trade journals, business publications, SEC filings, law reviews, statutory, administrative, and case law.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1908-1982 This link opens in a new window
Brings together book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music science & technology, and more with coverage back to 1983. Many of the reviews are serious, academic works