Gregg-Graniteville Library: ENGL 102--Seeger: Cite Your Sources

Looking for MLA 9th edition help? You can access our quick reference guide, online manual, and video tutorials below.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources is now available online through institutional subscriptions. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.
- This link opens in a new window

Click to access the full MLA Handbook via the Gregg-Graniteville Library. Login required.

The Gregg-Graniteville Library citation tutorials will help you get started with your MLA 8th edition citations. To access the playlist on YouTube, click on this link or the image below.

Containers

For works that are part of a larger whole, such as a poem in an anthology, the larger whole is thought of as a Container, meaning that it contains the specific work being cited. Another example of a work within a container is an article within a journal. Since the journal contains the article being cited, the journal is the container.

Click to view an example of a citation within a container.

Many items have two containers. Articles found in a database, for example, are contained within a journal, which is contained within a database. For items with two containers, list the core elements for the first container, then list the additional elements for second container.

Click to view an example of a citation with two containers.

Locations

The Location of an item refers to where the item can be found. For a poem in an anthology, the location would be the page numbers within the anthology. The same applies to an article within a print journal. However, articles accessed electronically have two locations, the location within the journal, and the location within the database. The article's page numbers represent the article's location within the journal. The article's location within the database will be the item's Digital Object Identifier (DOI). If a DOI is not available, use the item's stable/permanent URL.