BADM 371:Leadership & Management: Topic
What topic interests you?
Is there a question you would like to answer? Is there a topic you'd like to learn more about?
When deciding what to research, make sure your topic:
- Fits the requirements of the assignment.
- Is something you're interested in.
- If at all possible, consider choosing a topic relating to your major.
Locate leadership case studies
Search ("Leadership" and "Case studies") in the Gregg-Graniteville Library catalog "Find it" and in the library databases.
Finding Bibliographic Information
Start your research by gathering background information on the leader you have selected for your topic. (The position and/or status of the individual and a short biography is a required part of the paper.)
Learning more about the leader will help you select what concepts and models from the class that are most relevant to the leader you are researching. Learning about the leader's life will help you identify search terms to use in the databases such as their title as well as anything they might be associated with such as a company, product, services, or specific accomplishments.
Locating Biographical Information.
You can locate biographical information in:
- Library books
- Databases that specialize in biographical information.
Research Recipe for Biographical Information.
When looking for biographies, try searching for leader's name AND biography.
For example, if I was looking for biographical information on Mahatma Gandhi in the library catalog, I would search for Mahatma Gandhi and biography. If you are in a database that specializes in biographies, you may just need to put the leader's name.
Biographical Information
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Information on the lives of over 19,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Ranges in time from the earliest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
- Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use to find quick facts, images or background information on various topics in dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Search the Gregg Graniteville Library Catalog "Find it" for Biographical information on your leader.
- Often leaders or entrepreneurs will post their own biographies online or their company or organization they are associated with will post a short biography on their website.
- Biography.comOnline website. Limited. Only contains biographies of well-known celebrities.
What is your assignment?
Answer these questions before you begin:
- What is your assignment?
- How many sources do you need?
- What types of sources do you need?
- How recent do your sources need to be?
- When is your assignment due?
If you can't answer one or more of these questions or if anything else about your assignment is unclear, you should contact your professor.