Why search here? Good for finding historical and current articles from newspapers and news sources across the U.S., including smaller regional and local newspapers.
Content type: Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, newswires
Coverage dates: 1700s-present
Why search here? Search full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Content type: Newspaper articles, newswire articles, television and radio transcripts
Coverage dates: Varies by publication, with some content dating back to the 1980s
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1756-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present
Why search here? Good for finding historical and current articles from newspapers and news sources across the U.S., including smaller regional and local newspapers.
Content type: Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, newswires
Coverage dates: 1700s-present
Why search here? Explore articles in African American newspapers from across the U.S. to learn more about African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1827-1998
Why search here? Search here for a selection of regional early American newspapers with scans of articles and full pages.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Why search here? Access daily newspaper covering current events related to higher education in the United States.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Create a free Chronicle account to receive Academe Today, a daily email newsletter summarizing the latest news from The Chronicle of Higher Education with links to the complete news article.
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. The resource allows users to translate articles into more than 40 different languages, create email alerts, and customize search options and results format
Full page views. Limit searches to sources sympathetic to the Confederacy or Union or to an 1860 or 1864 presidential candidate.
The Illustrated London News, founded by Herbert Ingram, began as a weekly publication in 1842 as a primarily conservative-leaning paper and was the world’s first illustrated newspaper. Its extensive coverage of the royal family’s tours, lives, and deaths earned the paper popularity.
Why search here? Search digitized historical newspapers from around the world.
Content type: Newspaper articles, primary sources
Coverage dates: 1791-2016
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1756-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present
Note: When accessing this resource off-campus, be aware that you will need to view the JPEGs. PDFs will only display when accessing this resource from on-campus.
Why search here? Search full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Content type: Newspaper articles, newswire articles, television and radio transcripts
Coverage dates: Varies by publication, with some content dating back to the 1980s
Why search here? Access thousands of contemporary news sources from around the world, including major newspapers, newswires, and broadcast transcripts. This comprehensive collection combines U.S., Canadian, and International Newsstream collections into a single resource.
Content type: Newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, and websites.
Coverage dates: Varies by publication, with content dating back to the 1980
Why search here? Good for for finding regional and local business news from many metropolitan and rural areas of the United States and Canada.
Content type: Newspaper articles, magazine articles, newswires, transcripts
Coverage dates: 1984-present
A full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press
Why search here? Explore digitized images of magazines and journals from colonial days to the early 20th century, providing a window into American history and culture. You can browse page-by-page, including original typography, drawings, and advertisements.
Content type: Periodical articles, primary sources, illustrations, and advertisements
Coverage dates: 1740-1940
