Contemporary Issues: Find Articles and Newspapers
Journal Title Search
Looking for access to a specific journal? Check out our ejournals tool here.
E-Resources Login Information
To access the library's e-resources, like ebooks and databases, you will log in with your full USC Aiken email address and your email password.
Follow this link for more information and troubleshooting instructions.
Google Search Tips
Here are a few tips and tools to help you find useful information via Google.
When searching Google, you can use the <site:> command to target specific types of websites.
For example, if you wanted to limit your search to just government information, you could search:
<trade policy site:.gov>
If you wanted to limit your search to results from a specific website, you could search:
<trade policy site:nytimes.com> or <trade policy site:foxnews.com>
Using <site:> in multiple tabs allows you to compare different sources.
Databases
Although many of these resources provide citation tools, these tools are often problematic. See a Librarian if you have any questions regarding the accurate citation of sources.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile has over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, the majority in full-text, from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use to find quick facts, images or background information on various topics in dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays on controversial issues to develop debates or be a starting point in writing a position paper.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a great database for background and historical information. Do note that this databases does not generally contain articles within the last 5 years.
Newspaper Databases
- New York TImes This link opens in a new window
Get unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Register using your USCA email account. Entitles users to WSJ app also.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
News from 1978 to current. Search globally or restrict your search to a world region, country, state, or language. Indispensable primary source information at the local, regional, national and even international levels. By providing in-depth news and other content from both small towns and large cities,
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal sources. These include regional, national, and international newspapers, news wires, broadcast transcripts, non-English language news sources, magazines, trade journals, business publications, SEC filings, law reviews, statutory, administrative and case law.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Resource allows users to translate articles into more than 40 different languages, create email alerts, and customize search options and results format
- Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
The Christian Science Monitor offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.