Looking for access to a specific journal? Check out our ejournals tool here.
Contains full text for more than 100 journal titles and citations for more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes all of the content available in the 14-volume print International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, published by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. Includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records of more than 30,000 plays (many never published previously), over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. It also includes over 40,000 pages of reference sources in electronic format, including Annals of the New York Stage, and the American Theatre Companies series. Thousands of posters, playbills, and photographs are also included, as well as links to plays and related Web sites.
Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect ELA and Theatre students with dramatic texts, poetry, and performance. You will need to create a sign-on.
Why search here? Search here for scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences in a major database that many students are familiar with from high school.
Content type: Journal articles, eBooks, images, primary sources
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Why search here? Register for an account to access the the entirety of the newspaper's articles and web content online and in their mobile apps.
Content type: Newspaper articles, videos, games, recipes
Coverage dates: 1851-present
Why search here? Find scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, book
Why search here? Find reference materials (encyclopedias, English and bilingual dictionaries, maps, and timelines) across a wide variety of subjects.
Content type: Books, reference materials
Why search here? Good for succinct overviews of a wide variety of subjects and topics, provided through reference articles drawn from encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Content type: Encyclopedia articles, biographical information, dictionary entries, videos, images
Why search here? The main database of critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, also covering linguistics, folklore, film and media studies.
Content type: Scholarly articles, books, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1963-present
Why search here? Great entry point for information on composers, performers, genres, and instruments in art music, jazz, rock, and pop.
Content type: Encyclopedia articles, reference materials, bibliographies, images
Includes full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio
Why search here? Discover the full-text of plays, playbills, photographs, and ephemera for Black playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and African diaspora countries, spanning from the mid-1800s to the present.
Content type: Plays, primary sources, images
Coverage dates: 1850s-present
Contains hundreds of hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Online streaming video of hundreds of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Login issues? Check out our e-resources login help page.
