ENGL 101--Z. Miller, Fall 2022: Find Articles
Accessing Databases and Ebooks
To access the library's databases and ebooks, you will log in with your full USCA email address and your email password. If you have trouble logging in, visit our E-Resources Login Help guide.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
General database that overs all subject areas, so can be used for both fictional and real people. - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowGeneral database that overs all subject areas, so can be used for both fictional and real people.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowHumanities and social sciences database, so can be used for both fictional and real people.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLargely a humanities database with a heavy focus on arts and literature, so can be used for both fictional and real people.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A literary criticism database, so can be used for fictional characters and for authors/creators. - Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowCollection of resources related to literature and authors, including biographies, interviews, and literary criticism.
- Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, news, and other articles about specific people. Can be used for real people and authors/creators. - Alexander Street Press (multiple databases) This link opens in a new windowCollections of different types of resources, including videos and documentaries, focusing on specific groups, such as African Americans, LGBTQ, and women.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essentially an encyclopedia, so can be used to research real people, authors/creators, and some fictional characters. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference works, such as encyclopedias, and can be limited to specific types of reference works, such as those relating to philosophy or religion. Can be used for real people, authors/creators, and some fictional characters.
- Oxford Music Online (Grove) This link opens in a new windowCollection of reference resources specific to music.
Newspapers
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal sources. These include regional, national, and international newspapers, news wires, broadcast transcripts, non-English language news sources, magazines, trade journals, business publications, SEC filings, law reviews, statutory, administrative and case law.
- New York TImes This link opens in a new window
Get unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple collections of historical newspapers covering the colonial, antebellum, and Reconstruction eras as well as two collections of African American newspapers.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple collections of historical newspapers covering the colonial, antebellum, and Reconstruction eras as well as two collections of African American newspapers.