Music: Find Articles

Oxford/Grove Music Online (GMO) is a premier resource for music research, biographical data, and historical information for music and composers around the world and across time.

The electronic resource for the original 10-volume music encyclopedia. Ideal for World Music students.

A collection of reference works and subject dictionaries spanning multiple content areas, including music.

Biographical information for over 650,000 people, including musicians.

Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title

Why search here? Search here for scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences in a major database that many students are familiar with from high school.
Content type: Journal articles, eBooks, images, primary sources

Why search here? Find scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, book

Why search here? A go-to database for film & television studies: covers theory, production, cinematography, preservation, screenwriting, technical aspects and reviews — offering comprehensive full text and indexing for both scholarly and popular sources. 

Content type: Full-text journals (100+), indexed/abstracted publications (300+), film reviews (e.g., Variety movie reviews from 1914 onward), and image archive materials (MPTV Image Archive). 

Coverage dates: Varies by title, includes movie reviews from 1914-present and indexing/abstracting for publications dating back multiple decades.