Gregg-Graniteville Library: Business: Demographic Resources

Federal Online Resources

Census Data from data.census.gov

Why search here? Explore detailed statistical data about the people and economy of the United States, including population counts, demographics, housing, economic indicators, and more, collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Content type: Statistical tables, maps, data visualizations, microdata files.
Coverage dates: Historical and current data, varying by dataset (decennial censuses from 1790 to present, economic surveys, population estimates, etc.)

Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Tools
"Provides experienced users of BLS data with one of the quickest form of access to BLS time series data on our website."

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. State and local numbers, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data are also available.

PolicyMap
Why search here? Visualize, analyze, and map a wide range of data related to demographics, real estate, health, crime, and more at various geographic levels, from national down to a specific address
Content type: Maps, charts, and reports created from over 37,000 datasets (demographics, housing, real estate, health, crime, economy, education, and assets
Coverage dates: Data is updated regularly, with some datasets covering historical information dating back to the 1970s, while others are a snapshot of the most recent available data
First time users can access this quick start quick. Watch the video for a demo or review the document linked on the page: https://policymap.helpdocs.io/resources/academic-quick-start-guide

South Carolina Labor Market Data
"The Labor Market Information Division is your one-stop-shop for information and analysis on South Carolina's population, labor market, and more.

We work with the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and the U.S. Census Bureau, making us the official source for this information throughout our state. The labor force research conducted by our department gives insight to employers and jobseekers alike to make informed workforce-related decisions."
South Carolina Census State Data Center
The South Carolina Census State Data Center provides U.S. Census Bureau demographic, social, economic, and housing data for South Carolina. The State Data Center Program is a cooperative program between the states and the Census Bureau that was created in 1978 to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments. State Data Centers also provide training and technical assistance in the use of Census Bureau data for research, administration, planning and decision making to local governments, the business community, researchers, and other interested data users.

Our World In Data

Why search here? Good for finding historical and current and historical data on the large problems facing the world. (Example: poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, inequality, etc.)
Content type: Over 13,000 charts across 120 topics
Coverage dates: varies-present
World Bank Open Data

World Bank Group now provides free, open, and easy access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe—some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years— through its new data portal. This site currently contains the full World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), and Africa Development Indicators (ADI) as well as several other World Bank databases such as Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, etc.