A database is just an organized collection of information, like a digital filing cabinet.
Library databases are special digital filing cabinets filled with reliable information like articles, journals, and eBooks, primarily for research.
You use a search bar and filters to quickly find exactly what you need, far faster than searching a print books on the shelf.
Examples of everyday databases:
The key is knowing which database you need. You wouldn't search for an instructional video on Spotify
Common search Terms :
Examples of Combining Terms
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Search across all of Gale's literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews.
Why search here? Search here for scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences in a major database that many students are familiar with from high school.
Content type: Journal articles, eBooks, images, primary sources
Why search here? Good for book reviews from newspapers, popular magazines, and non-academic review magazines
Content type: Non-academic book reviews
Coverage dates: 1908-1982
Why search here? Criticism and analysis of literature from classical and medieval literature through the early 2000s.
Content type: Encyclopedia entries, reviews, scholarly sources including critical essays
Includes full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Why search here? Find scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, book
Why search here? Search here for master's and doctoral theses and dissertations from academic institutions around the world.
Content type: Dissertations and theses, bibliographies
Coverage dates: 1637-present
Why search here? Discover scholarly articles and research in psychology and behavioral and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, books
Coverage dates: 1600s-present
Why search here? Good for finding historical and current articles from newspapers and news sources across the U.S., including smaller regional and local newspapers.
Content type: Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, newswires
Coverage dates: 1700s-present
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. The resource allows users to translate articles into more than 40 different languages, create email alerts, and customize search options and results format
Why search here? Register for an account to access the the entirety of the newspaper's articles and web content online and in their mobile apps.
Content type: Newspaper articles, videos, games, recipes
Coverage dates: 1851-present
Register using your USCA email account. Entitles users to WSJ app also.
